{"id":"EGY","institution":"Central Bank of Egypt (CBE)","body":"Monetary Policy Committee","card_type":"rate_decision","decision":"hold","bank_rate":19,"bank_rate_unit":"percent","previous_bank_rate":19,"change_bps":0,"vote":null,"dissent":null,"meeting_ended":"2026-08-20","published":"2026-08-20","next_decision":"Not stated in the release","inflation":14.9,"inflation_target":7,"summary":"FREE SAMPLE, older example: previous meeting (2026-08-20). The paid card is the latest decision. Source: Central Bank of Egypt, MPC press release, 20 August 2026. Quoted as published: \"The Monetary Policy Committee (MPC) of the Central Bank of Egypt (CBE) has decided to keep its key policy rates unchanged.\" \"The overnight deposit rate, overnight lending rate, and the rate of the main operation remain at 19.00 percent, 20.00 percent, and 19.50 percent, respectively. The discount rate was also maintained at 19.50 percent.\" bank_rate is the overnight deposit rate; previous_bank_rate equals bank_rate because the rates were kept unchanged; change_bps (0) is calculated by FilingDelta. The CBE does not publish votes, so vote and dissent are null. inflation: \"annual headline inflation in July 2026 slightly inched up to 14.9 percent from 14.3 percent in June 2026\". inflation_target: \"the targeted level of 7 percent (± 2 p.p.) during H2 2027\". The release does not state the next meeting date. Not investment advice.","why_it_matters":"Quoted as published (CBE, 20 August 2026): \"the forecasted inflation trajectory remains subject to upside risks, including escalating regional hostilities and a higher-than-expected pass- through from fiscal consolidation measures.\" Source: Central Bank of Egypt (CBE), https://www.cbe.org.eg/-/media/project/cbe/listing/mpc-meetings/2026/english/mpc-press-release---20-august-2026.pdf","source_url":"https://www.cbe.org.eg/-/media/project/cbe/listing/mpc-meetings/2026/english/mpc-press-release---20-august-2026.pdf","generated_at":"2026-10-24T19:58:07.194Z"}